...Carolina Golf News Line                          Stonebridge Golf Hole

Glorioso's Final-Hole Eagle Wins Lance Two-Man Team Championship

MONROE, N.C. -- Guy Glorioso eagled the 18th hole Sunday to lift his team to a one-shot victory in the 2007 Lance Two-Man Team Championship at Stonebridge Golf Club.

Glorioso and partner Andy Price, who played the last five holes in four under par, carded a 65 Sunday to finish the two-day event at 15-under 129. Despite shooting a final-round 63, the team of Sean Moore and Scott Morse wound up second in the gross divison at 130. Matt Pennell and Chris Romig, who also shot 130, finished third.
For Glorioso and Price, it was an exciting end to an interesting weekend. They entered the tournament individually and were paired up on the first tee Saturday morning. Although they had never met, they immediately clicked, shooting 64 in the first round to take the lead.
Glorioso-Price Win at Stonebridge

"We both played real well in the first round. We never struggled to make par at all," said Price, who played collegiately at Bluefield College in Virginia and moved to Charlotte in January. "Today, we just made the putts when we had to."
No putt was bigger than the 15-footer that Glorioso drained for eagle on the par-5 finishing hole, especially since he knew there was already a score of 130 on the board. "I knew if it went in, we won," said Glorioso, who played collegiately at Ole Miss and moved to Charlotte a year ago.
In the net division, Andy Morrow birdied the fourth hole of a sudden death playoff to give himself and partner John Pearson top honors. Morrow and Pearson shot net rounds of 61 and 54 for a 115 total, but had to grind out the win over the duo of Dean Helton and Marshall Petit, who also finished at 115.
Morrow's winning birdie putt was set up by a clutch 20-foot par putt on the previous hole by Pearson that kept the match alive.
Stonebridge Golf Club, July 7-8
Gross Division
Guy Glorioso/Andy Price 64-65--129
Sean Moore/Scott Morse 67-63--130
Matt Pennell/Chris Romig 66-64--130
Brad Sarchett/Bobbie Sturdivant 65-66--131
Dick Stimart/Brian Tiddy 65-66--131
Lindsay Carrington/Norm Waldrop 68-66--134
Jim Aughtry/Joe Jaspers 68-66--134
Alex Brenner/John Sadri 69-65--134
David McMahan/Brad Mulkey 69-66--135
Michael McGarity/Anthony Ray 68-67--135
Net Division
Andy Murrow/John Pearson 61-54--115*
Dean Helton/Marshall Petit 56-59--115
Jack Hasty/Baron Stark 61-60--121
Don Bridges/Jeff Cayo 64-59--123
Chris Bailey/Rob Brogden 60-63--123
Eric Berry/Charles Knight 61-63--124
Chris Gerhard/Joe Harrell 67-60--127
Mike Bohnsdahl/C.J. Jones 64-63--127
Gordon Heyworth/Brian Layne 61-66--127
Jim Boyce/James Cox 62-67--129
* -- won on fourth playoff hole
# # #