...Carolina Golf News Line                          Shamrock at Tega Cay Golf Hole

The Shamrock Women’s Intercollegiate Golf Tournament Comes to Tega Cay 

Tega Cay, S.C. – The sixth annual Shamrock Women’s Intercollegiate Golf Tournament returns to Tega Cay Golf Club in Tega Cay, SC on March 21-23. The tournament started in 2002 and has quickly become one the Womens Intercollegiate Golf’s top tournaments. Fourteen colleges will field their top players from the US and other countries. Represented this year will be players from the US, Finland, Sweden, Mexico, Canada, England, and Germany.

The six-year old Shamrock Invitational Tournament draws participants from schools across the southeast and beyond. Local colleges from South Carolina include Winthrop, The Citadel, University of SC Upstate, Presbyterian College, and Charleston Southern. Other participating colleges include Saint Francis, Murray State University, South Dakota State University, Xavier University, University of Iowa, Princeton University, Gardner-Webb, Tennessee State University, and Siena College.     

The challenging Tega Cay Golf Club has long been a fixture for the St. Patrick Day themed Shamrock Tournament. This 54-hole three-day event is played on the Pines and the Grande View nines of Tega Cay’s 27 hole layout. Although bleachers are provided on the ninth hole of the Pines, the best vantage point is from above the green of the last hole of the Grande View. This long par four requires a demanding approach shot over water to a bulkhead-protected green. 

Last year’s team win was captured by the Lady Eagles of Winthrop. Led by Jutta Degerman, they came from behind to beat East Tennessee State by two strokes for Winthrop’s first Shamrock win. Winthrop’s Lady Eagles golf coach Jodi Wendt said, “We have a great chance against the contenders in this year’s field for a repeat win.”

The player that most golf fans will be eyeing during the tournament is Winthrop’s Jutta Degerman from Kaunianen, Finland. Jutta won last years single player medal honors.

The first round will begin at 8 A.M. on Friday morning, March 21, 2008. The tournament is open to the public and is free of charge.