...Carolina Golf News Line                          Shamrock at Tega Cay golf hole and flag

Tega Cay, SCMurray State Captures 2008 Shamrock Intercollegiate Title
Sunday, March 23, 2008

The Sixth Annual 2008 Shamrock Collegiate Invitational Tournament for collegiate women golfers was held March 21,22, and 23 at Tega Cay Golf Club in Tega Cay, SC.  Fourteen teams traveled here from as far as Iowa, South Dakota and Texas. The annual tournament is hosted by both Tega Cay Golf Club, and Winthrop College in Rock Hill, SC. Winthrop won last year and was looking for a repeat win.

On the first day Winthrop’s Jutta Degerman from Kaunainen, Finland led the field by three strokes after firing a one-under 71. She helped Winthrop to a team total of 310, which trailed the day’s team leader Charleston Southern by four strokes.

At left Jutta Degerman's iron shot to Tega Cay's Grande View 9th

Susannah Aboff of Princeton shot the low round of day two with a 69. She led Princeton from a fourth place tie with Iowa to second place. However Charleston Southern maintained first as Winthrop dropped to third.

Murray State overcame an 11-stroke deficit in the third and final round to capture first place with a team total of 935. Murray State’s final round 306 came from Bethany Yates, Alexandra Hinteregge, Joyce Trus, and Andrea Downer. One stroke behind was Princeton University with 936 in second place. Charleston Southern fell to third place with 939, and Winthrop dropped to fourth with 940. Susannah Aboff swings for Tega Cay's 18th at right

The low medallist for the three days was Susannah Aboff of Princeton with 221 followed by Jutta Degerman of Winthrop with 223. Third place Michelle Grilli, also from Princeton, came in third this a score of 230. Winthop’s coach Jodi Wendt said that we will probably see both Susannah and Jutta on the LPGA soon.

Susannah Aboff

Jutta Degerman

The six-year old Shamrock Invitational Tournament drew participants from South Carolina colleges including Winthrop, The Citadel, University of SC Upstate, Presbyterian College, and Charleston Southern. Other participating colleges were Saint Francis, Murray State University, South Dakota State University, Xavier University, University of Iowa, Princeton University, Gardner-Webb, Tennessee State University, and Siena College.


JW Farquhar Golfholes.com

The Practice Tee at Tega Cay's Shamrock Event