...Carolina Golf News Line                          Rocky Rive Golf hole

USC-Aiken cruises and Coker wins playoff in NCAA Division II Super Regional action

CONCORD, N.C. -- Defending national champion USC-Aiken coasted to victory in the Southeast Regional, while Coker College needed a playoff to win the Atlantic Regional Wednesday in the NCAA Division II Men's Golf Super Regional at Rocky River Golf Club.
USC-Aiken shot a three-day total of 11-over-par 875 on Rocky River's challenging layout to take its fourth straight Southeast Regional title by 37 shots over Columbus State (912). Both teams now advance to the NCAA D-II National Championship, where the Pacers will try for their third straight national crown.
"The guys played some good teams on a good golf course, so we're really pleased," said USC-Aiken coach Mike Carlisle. "It was a tough test of golf, but they handled it well."
In the Atlantic Regional, Coker lost a six-shot lead to Pfeiffer in the final round as both teams tied at 898. However, the Cobras rallied in a team playoff, playing the first hole one under par to edge Pfeiffer and win the regional. Despite the loss, Pfeiffer advances to national tournament along with Barton, which shot 908 to finish third in the Atlantic Regional.
Individually, Aiken's Scott Brown dominated. Brown fired a five-under total of 211, including a final-round 69. Brown's teammate, Roberto Diaz, was second individually in the Southeast Regional at 216.
In the Atlantic Regional, Dion Sirrianni of Lees-McRae shot 217 and earned a spot in the national tournament as an individual. Sirrianni birdied two of his last three holes, including a 50-foot birdie putt on No. 16. Coker's Vincent Dumochel (219) finished second to Sirrianni.
NCAA Division II
Men's Super Regional
Rocky River Golf Club,
Concord, North Carolina
Par 72 -- 6,970 Yards
Atlantic Regional
Coker 295-294-309--898*
Pfeiffer 297-298-303--898
Barton 310-300-298--908
St. Andrews 308-313-304--925
Belmont Abbey 308-309-310--927
Mt. Olive 313-309-312--934
Limestone 313-305-323--941
Fayetteville State 306-318-325--949
* -- won in a one-hole playoff
Atlantic Regional Individuals
Dion Sirrianni (Lees-McR) 71-71-75--217
Vincent Dumochel (Coker) 71-73-75--219
Neal Jones (Barton) 73-69-78--220
Blaine Rogers (Coker) 70-73-79--222
Ian Milne (Fayetteville St.) 71-73-78--222
John Kolls (St. Andrews) 75-79-68--222
Nick Nosewicz (Barton) 77-75-72--224
Eric Forsman (Pfeiffer) 73-77-74--224 
Kasey Timms (Bel. Abbey) 77-73-75--225
Matt Whelband (Pfeiffer) 70-76-79--225
Southeast Regional
USC-Aiken 290-295-290--875
Columbus State 302-305-305--912
Georgia College 302-303-308--913
Armstrong Atlantic 305-300-310--915
Lenoir-Rhyne 313-303-301--917
UNC-Pembroke 306-306-305--917
USC-Upstate 304-314-304--922
Newberry 308-315-308--931
Southeast Regional Individuals
Scott Brown (USCA) 69-73-69--211
Roberto Diaz (USCA) 72-72-72--216
Johan Crovall (Ga. Coll) 75-69-74--218
Dane Burkhart (USCA) 72-74-73--219
Christian Ries (Col. St.) 72-76-73--221
Chan Metts (Georgia Coll) 73-75-77--225
Jakin Fox (Len.-Rhyne) 76-80-70--226
Kent George (Len.-Rhyne) 79-74-73--226
Kyle Albright (Col. St.) 79-73-74--226
Chris Helms (UNCP) 75-77-74--226