...Carolina Golf News Line                          Carolina Golf Writers Association Golf Hole

CGRA Announces Winners of 2007 Reporting Awards

CONCORD, N.C. – Winners of the Carolinas Golf Reporters Association’s 2007 Reporting Awards were honored Sunday, March 9. The presentations were part of the CGRA’s quarterly business meeting at the Embassy Suites Golf Resort & Spa in Concord, North Carolina.

CGRA member Howard Ward of The Pilot claimed first-place honors in two categories: Non-Daily Features and Daily News. Other first-place winners were: Tom McAuliffe of Carolina Mountain Living (Non-Daily News); Alan Blondin of The Sun News (Daily Features); and Ronnie Musselwhite of Golf Business (Non-Daily Columns). A full list of winners appears below.

Presented annually, the CGRA Reporting Awards recognize outstanding achievement in the field of golf coverage. Judging is conducted by an independent panel focusing on such criteria as: content, thoroughness of reporting, style, originality and grammar accuracy.

The Carolinas Golf Reporters Association is a non-profit, media-based organization whose mission is to promote better quality in golf news coverage in the Carolinas, and to serve as a medium of exchange for ideas. In addition to the Reporting Awards, the CGRA annually selects inductees for the Carolinas Golf Hall of Fame. For details, visit www.thecgra.com.

CGRA 2007 Reporting Awards Recipients

Non-daily Features
1st: Howard Ward, The Pilot, “Golf’s Grande Dame: Pinehurst No. 2 Celebrates 100 Years”
2nd: Craig Distl, Golfweek, “His Way”

Non-daily Columns
1st: Ronnie Musselwhite, Golf Business, “Can’t We All Just Get Along?”
2nd: Trent Bouts, Palmetto Golfer, “Whose Game Is It Anyway?”

Non-daily News
1st: Tom McAuliffe, Carolina Mountain Living, “A Sad Farewell?”

Daily News
1st: Howard Ward, The Pilot’s U.S. Women’s Open Daily, “A Wide-Open Open” 

Daily Features
1st: Alan Blondin, The Sun News, “Walk of a Lifetime”